The Information Ladder.

The Information Ladder has four levels. Each level builds on the previous one, providing more detail and value.

The four levels are:

  1. Data — This is a collection of facts. It is everything.
  2. Information — Is groups of data that have a shared meaning
  3. Knowledge — This is information that is acted upon.
  4. Wisdom — Knowing when to act.

Data and information are the domains of computers, while knowledge and wisdom are the domain of human beings. Perhaps, in the near future, this separation of domains will become quite blurry as artificial intelligence starts to become more and more capable of doing tasks that were previously reserved for human beings.

Related Essays